The government of Canada has been detaining migrants in Canadian provincial jails as part of its border security measures. Under agreements with the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA), five Canadian provinces – Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Alberta, and Saskatchewan continue to keep immigrants in their provincial prisons. According to the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA), migrants can be kept in provincial jails even if they are not accused of a crime. In mid-September, Nova Scotia announced it would not renew its deal with the CBSA.