Alberta is the third province to end its contract with the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA), thereby ending the practice of detaining immigrants in provincial jails. British Columbia was the first Canadian province to take such steps earlier this year. In mid-September, Nova Scotia also stopped housing IRPA detainees in the provincial jails. Advocates who have been urging the Government of Canada to discontinue the practice of housing IRPA detainees in provincial jails across Canada praised the choices made by three provinces.