On August 26, 2022, Sean Fraser, Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) announced the expansion of the Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot (RNIP). The Government of Canada expanded the geographic boundaries of some participating communities to encompass more employers. North Bay (ON), Sudbury (ON), Timmins (ON), Thunder Bay (ON), Moose Jaw (SK), West Kootenay (BC), and Vernon (BC) are the expanded communities. IRCC also expanded the range of job offers available to candidates and reduced the number of settlement funds participants is required to have.