On June 21, 2021, the Government of Canada updated the oath of citizenship to include Indigenous peoples, through Bill C-8. This is a direct response to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) Call to Action 94. As of June 21, 2021, the new Oath of Citizenship officially recognizes First Nations, Inuit and Metis, and the obligation that all Canadians have to uphold the treaties between the Crown and Indigenous nations. Canada’s new Oath will help new Canadians to make a personal commitment to observe the Aboriginal and treaty rights of First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples.